Famous Last Words

famous last words Famous Last Words by Katie Alender

Summary:

Willa has just moved to California with her mom and her famous, film-director step-father.  She is busy trying to figure out the California life, private school and making new friends when she starts seeing strange things.  It doesn’t take Willa long to figure out, she is the only one seeing these strange things.  How can she figure out what is going on without everyone thinking she is crazy?  Are her visions connected to a serial killer that is stalking young girls in the area?

My thoughts:

I listened to the audiobook version of this book.  I sometimes wonder if that changes my reviews on books.

This book was fast-pace and full of suspense.  Willa’s new world where money isn’t an issue, she attends private school, and has people who work for her step-father just to make their lives easier, is an interesting transition.  The scene where she goes for a walk and when she gets home, she realizes she doesn’t know the code to the gate made me laugh.

When Willa starts to see the visions, things get a little spooky.  I’m not going to lie, I was out walking and I spooked myself several times.  (Picture me, tripping over the neighborhood cat and making a fool of myself.)  Meanwhile, there is a serial killer loose in Hollywood that people don’t seem worried enough about.  Willa starts piecing together her visions and realizing that she more involved than she ever dreamed.

Final thoughts

I read this book because it is a Truman Award Nominee for the 2016-2017 school year.  It will be a great addition to that list.  A similar title I would recommend to students who like this book would be Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

Leave a Reply

