What Alice Forgot

what alice forgotBook Summary:

Alice falls and hits her head while at the gym.  When she wakes up, she thinks everything is fine.  Everything except the fact that she doesn’t remember the past ten years.

The world Alice remembers with the great marriage and expecting her first child is far different the world she wakes up in.  Why is her husband rude to her when she calls him?  How many children does she have?  Why is her sister so distant?

Alice starts to realize that she has changed in ten years and not all for the better.  She struggles with figuring out how to live in this “new to her” world while trying to remember what she forgot.

My Thoughts:

This was another book club selection.  I had read a couple of Liane Moriarty’s books before so I knew what to expect but I think this is probably my favorite that she has authored.  Maybe it’s because 10 years ago I was also pregnant with my first child so I related a lot to Alice, but I really enjoyed What Alice Forgot.  Alice is very frustrated by the fact that things don’t make sense and she can’t remember everything and, as the reader, you feel the same frustrations.  Ms. Moriarty does a great job of giving you enough of the facts to realize there’s a lot you don’t know.  I got to a point where I just had to know what Alice actually forgot and I had to sit and finish the book so I would have all the answers.  It’s one of my favorites of the year.

Leave a Reply

