The Pact

the pactBook Summary:

Chris and Emily have grown up inseparable.  Their parents are best friends and neighbors.  It’s hard to tell where one family ends and the other begins.

This story starts with Chris and Emily being rushed into the emergency room.  Emily has been shot.  Christ says it was a suicide pact, evidence says something else.

This shift between the story that led them to this point plus Chris’s struggles between the truth and lies lead to an intense read.  What would you do for the person you love?

My Thoughts:

I rarely read a book more than once.  There are so many great books that I want to read, I’m sure I will die with my “to-read” pile being just as big as it is now.  I don’t want to waste time reading things I have already read.

This month’s book club choice was a book I read almost 20 years ago when I was in college.   20 years, wow, I’m old!  Twenty years ago, I was very close to Chris and Emily’s age in the novel.  I could relate with their life and understood how much love and relationships can overtake you when you are young.

Reading this book as an adult, as a parent, was a completely different thing.  I loved the book back then, but I love it even more now.  I can now see the struggles the parents are going through and see relationships that my own children have that remind me of Chris and Emily.  It made the book so much harder to read but it also made it that more relevant.

Maybe I need to reread books more often.

Leave a Reply

