Counting Stars

counting starsBook Review:

Bernadette’s brother dies unexpectedly and it rocks her whole world.  She is stuck in a rut until her sister-in-law comes across a bucket list notebook that her brother had been keeping since they were kids.  He was obsessed with all of the quirky landmarks around the country: largest ball of twine, etc.

Bernie decides it would do them all good to take a roadtrip and see all the sights her brother never got to see.  She enlists her mother, sister-in-law and best friend on the adventure of a lifetime.

As they embark on this journey, some willing and some unwilling, they learn about the country, each other and themselves.

My Thoughts:

This was a book club selection.

First of all, this is the sequel to Chasing Rainbows.  I did not realize that until I had finished the book.  I wish I would have read it first but this book definitely stood alone without having read the first book.

Bernadette is a quirky character.  She has lost her father, been cheated on by her fiance, and her brother passed away within a few years.  She’s in a rut so when she comes across her brother’s book, it seems like the perfect solution.  Take a roadtrip to have closure to her brother’s life and bring them all closer.

I thought the book was an easy, quick read and I enjoyed it.  I had visited some of the places in the book so I found some of the facts to be a little off.  It wouldn’t bother a random person reading it but I wasn’t sure why you wouldn’t get the little facts right when writing about real tourist attractions.  I also thought some of the portions of the plot were not needed.  I will be interested to hear the conversation at book club.

The worst part of this book was that it made me want to go on a roadtrip and find adventure.  Unfortunately, in the real world, it’s not quite as easy to just get away.

Leave a Reply

