The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up

life changing magic of tidying upBook Summary:

This nonfiction book explains the Japanese method of decluttering your house.  It features clothing, paper, books and misc.  The basic idea is to only keep things that bring you joy.  As you are going through these items, you ask yourself if they bring you joy.  If they don’t, you get rid of the items.  Sounds simple.

My Thoughts:

I had really high hopes for this book.  I was hoping it would get me excited about decluttering my house and give me step-by-step instructions on how to make my life better.

First of all, clothing, books, paper and misc…that leaves A LOT of misc.  I did like how it mentioned you should do ALL of each category.  For example, when you are going through your clothes, get all the clothes from everywhere and look at them at the same time.

I went through all of my clothing and I did think about each item.  I was able to weed through a lot of clothing that doesn’t bring me joy.  I did think it was weird to thank the clothes you get rid of for their part in your life…

I had high hopes.  The book didn’t hold up to the hype.  It helped with clothes and I plan to do my books too but it leaves a lot of your house that just doesn’t bring you joy but you have to keep it anyway.

I guess I’ll keep being cluttered.

Leave a Reply

