Made for You

Made for You by Melissa Marr
made for youBook Review:

Eva wakes up in the hospital after she is hit by a car while walking home one evening.  This is so unheard of in her small Southern town.  Surely someone didn’t hit her on purpose, did they?

As Eva begins to heal, she realizes that when anyone touches her, she can see their death.  Then she realizes that some of her friends are going to be victims just like she was.  This definitely wasn’t an accident and all of her friends are in danger.

The chapters alternate between Eva who is trying to piece it all together and the one who is responsible for her injuries.  He is definitely obsessed with Evav and might have to sacrifice others for her to get his “messages” so they can live happily ever after.

My Thoughts:

This book is a Gateway nominee for the 2016-2017 school year so I know several people who have read it.  They kept bringing it back to the library telling me they had read it in one day and it was a great read.

I have to say they weren’t wrong.  This book mixes the paranormal (being able to see people’s deaths) with realistic of someone being obsessed and trying to kill Eva in a way that made sense to me.  The only thing I didn’t quite get was how poor Eva had to recover in the hospital alone because her family was all too busy to be with her.  That struck me as odd.

I read this book in one day.  I had to know what happened.  That is partly because the book was so interesting but also because I’m a giant scaredy cat who must finish a scary book before I can go to sleep.  (I’ve never watched an entire episode of Scooby Doo)

This will definitely be an easy sell to students.

Leave a Reply

