BFG: the movie vs. the book

It’s a scary thing, going to see the movie version of a book that you adore.

Sometimes I can’t go see movies because I don’t want them to ruin my relationship with the book.  Sometimes I don’t like the actors chosen to play the roles.  Sometimes, not enough time has passed since I have read the book so I have to wait.

With all of that being said, I love The BFG.  Even though this book is a children’s book, I didn’t know about it until I was an adult.  Legally, I was an adult.  Looking back now, I realize I was still a child.

I was a child who had a college degree and was responsible every day for 25 little fourth graders who were my whole world.  I don’t know what caused me to read The BFG out loud to my class, but each day after lunch, we fell in love a little more with the Big Friendly Giant.  I was lucky.  I was making a HUGE mistake by reading a book out loud to my class that I had not read on my own yet.  I didn’t know what was to come, but I was lucky.

My class and I LOVED the book.  We laughed together and were disappointed when it was time to move back into classwork each day.

I forgot about The BFG for awhile.  As I became a middle school librarian, I would recommend it to students but it’s kind of a hard sell.  It doesn’t have some of the edgy themes my students want to read about and to be honest, my copy was old and worn out.

I got married, had my own kids and got the joy of introducing my daughter to the Big Friendly Giant.  I fell in love with him all over again as she fell over with laughter each night at bedtime.

Again, he went to the back burner.

Then I heard they were making a movie!  This could be bad, or it could be good.  Movies can kill books.  Look at The Lightning Thief movie, what a poor adaptation that one was!

I have some strict guidelines when I watch a movie of a book that I have read.  I like for there to be quite a bit of time pass between my reading and watching.  That way I know what the movie is about but I’m not overwhelmed with all the differences.

We decided to give it a try.  Unfortunately, I hadn’t been able to lure my son into the magic of the book before we went to watch the  movie, but that’s just life.

I have to say that watching the movie reminded my that The Big Friendly Giant is one of my favorite characters of all-time.  That’s a big deal.  I’ve read hundreds if not thousands of books and met too many characters to count, but he will always hold a special place in my heart.  He is so tender-hearted and somehow they portray that perfectly in his computer-generated eyes.

I’m happy to say that my daughter and I both loved the movie.  We weren’t the only ones.  At the end of the movie, there was applause.  You don’t see that happen to often!  I loved hearing comments from the other movie viewers who had read the book about how much they enjoyed it as well.  I heard one many say, “Oh, there’s a book?”  I refrained myself from chucking my tub of popcorn at him.

At the end of the day, I would say that this is a great movie adaptation.  Good job Hollywood!

 

Leave a Reply

