Heart of the Matter

Heart of the Matter by Emily Giffin

heart of the matterBook Summary:

Valerie’s world is changed when her six-year-old son is accidentally burned at a friend’s birthday party.  Being a single mother is hard enough, but in a tragedy like this, it is hard to be alone.

Tessa seems to have it all.  Her husband is a renowned pediatric plastic surgeon, they have money, great kids, and everything looks to be perfect.

The night of the accident bonds these women together without them even knowing.  Both of their lives will be changed forever.

In Heart of the Matter, we see inside the perfect life of the moms who seem to have it all and see exactly what is going on behind closed doors.

My Thoughts:

This is my first book by Emily Giffin.  I have always wanted to read books by her, but for some reason, they never end up in my stack at the end of my library visits.  It definitely won’t be my last.

I won’t lie…around page 75, I thought about putting this book down.  “Yuppie” moms tend to drive me crazy in real life so I wasn’t sure if I wanted to read about them for fun.  I decided to stick with it and I am glad I did.

At some point, I realized I was invested in these two families and I needed to know how it all ended.  I found myself wondering what I would do if I was put in the situations brought up in the book.  I found myself wondering which ending I was rooting for.

As I turned the last page, I still wasn’t sure who I wanted to “win” in the book.  No one really wins when families are tore apart.

Disclaimer:  sometimes when I read books about infidelity, I tend to get mad at my husband.  (I have issues with reality vs. books)  I had to keep my emotions in check while reading this and make sure I remembered it was all a story.  Be forewarned.

 

Leave a Reply

