For the Love

for-the-loveFor the Love:  Fighting for Grace by Jen Hatmaker

Summary:

This book is all about love God, love people, the end.  I hope that wasn’t a spoiler.

Jen Hatmaker breaks the book down into different sections of life and talks about personal experiences and how to live life with grace and showing God’s love.

My Thoughts:

Jen Hatmaker might be my long lost twin.  She and I see eye to eye on so many issues.  This book is full of great thoughts on how to live life the best way possible.

One of my favorite parts of the book was when she talks about how we all have our own gifts and none of us are going to be great at everything.  We live in a Pintrest/Facebook world where from the outside looking in, everyone’s lives look perfect.  We don’t share how our child threw such a fit he put dents in the back of his door or how it took 24 tries to get the perfect shot of our children looking super cute with a background clear of any messes or craziness (not that any of that comes from my own life).  Everyone is good at some things and have other things they aren’t good at or that they just don’t care too much about.  Some people love to cook, others love to craft and there are probably some people who love to clean (I am not one of those people).  Dig in to what you have a passion for and do your best in the other areas. None of us are perfect and everyone is way too hard on themselves.

The other part of the book that really spoke to me was when she talked about how the biggest thing keeping people out of church is other Christians.  My dad always told me that I might be the only Bible someone ever read so I should make sure my actions reflected that.  We are never going to be perfect, but we can strive to live a life that is pleasing to God.  If we can’t get along with people in our church, how will we ever reach people outside of our church?

Love God, Love People, The End.

P.S.  I’m headed to a Belong conference in a little over a week where I get to see Jen in person, and I am BEYOND excited!  I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

