The Liar

The Liar by Nora Roberts

liarFrom Goodreads:

Shelby Foxworth lost her husband. Then she lost her illusions …

The man who took her from Tennessee to an exclusive Philadelphia suburb left her in crippling debt. He was an adulterer and a liar, and when Shelby tracks down his safe-deposit box, she finds multiple IDs. The man she loved wasn’t just dead. He never really existed.

Shelby takes her three-year-old daughter and heads south to seek comfort in her hometown, where she meets someone new: Griff Lott, a successful contractor. But her husband had secrets she has yet to discover. Even in this small town, surrounded by loved ones, danger is closer than she knows—and threatens Griff, as well. And an attempted murder is only the beginning …

My Thoughts:

I’ll admit that I love to watch trashy TV.  I”ll watch The Housewives from must about anywhere, Sister Wives, and my new favorite, 90-Day Fiance, just to name a few.  I’m not proud of the fact that I can’t turn away from the Kardashian drama, but it’s real life, people.

With this being said, even though I am a librarian who has spent time on an award committee, someone who enjoys reading rich literature full of great characters and complicated posts, I also will always read the new Nora Roberts titles.

The Liar did not disappoint.  At first, I felt like I had started in the middle of this book.  We meet Shelby right after she has lost her husband and his lies start unraveling around her.

Shelby gets her act together and puts her affairs in order very quickly.  I found the fact that she had let her husband be in charge of everything in their life with little to no say and how she jumped right into action solving mysteries of his death and tying up the loose ends of her life with him a little misleading.  If she was as smart as she seemed to be while figuring out all of the lies, how did she let him lie to her in the first place?

This book reminded me that even if your small town can seem boring and routine, it sometimes can offer you the safety that you need.

One thought on “The Liar

Leave a Reply

