Reading Habits

I think reading habits are so interesting.

Do you have to finish a book once you start it?

I always used to finish a book once I started, even if it took me a year and I hated it.  Then I was on a state award committee and I had too many books and too little time so I started letting myself not finish books that were not good.  Now I’ve almost turned into a book snob.  If it doesn’t catch me, I move on.  I have too many books I want to read to waste time on things that are torturous.

How do you keep track of what you’ve read?

I’m addicted to Goodreads.  I add books to my “to-read” list multiple times a week.  I figure there’s no chance of me ever catching up before I die.  I don’t always read the books in order of how they were added to my “to read” list but when I’m looking for my next book, I try to pick the first one on the list that I have access to.

One of my pet peeves in life is people who have Goodreads accounts but never add books.  My favorite thing is to see what other people are reading.  I’m the creepy one at the airport or beach who is giving you weird looks.  I’m not checking YOU out, I’m checking out your books.  It’s one of the downfalls of ebooks.  I can no longer be a book stalker without really looking creepy.  Please find me on Goodreads and become my friend.  I’ll follow you and we can share great books with each other.

Do you read multiple books at once?  

In the past, I’ve always been a stickler for reading one book at a time.  I still try to not read similar books at the same time but lately, I have found myself starting 3-4 books at a time.  Once I get caught up in one of the books, I usually read it til it’s done, then pick up another that I’ve started.  This is a new habit for me and I find it odd and exhilarating all at the same time.

Do you find yourself having feast and famine times in your reading?  

I’ll have some weeks where I read a book a day, then not pick up another book for a week or two.  I haven’t found any rhyme or reason to any of it.

Where do you read?

I was talking to a friend the other day that was saying she reads for hours in the bathtub.  Over the years, I’ve read a lot on Sundays while my husband watches golf or football.  I have a hard time reading in public places because I get distracted easily.  My co-worker gets so pulled into whatever book she is reading that she can read anywhere, anytime.

What are your reading habits?

Leave a Reply

