The Magnolia Story

28668633The Magnolia Story by Chip and Joanna Gaines

I’m a fan of Fixer Upper and I love what the Gaines stand for but a memoir from TV personalities can go either way.

Joanna Gaines tells the story of when she met Chip and how their life has gone since then.  Chip interjects with witty comments (in a different font) from time to time and they are so “Chip-like” that you can hear him talking to you.  They both go back to their childhood and give you a condensed version of how they become the people that they are.

The ending of this story is no secret.  If you watch Fixer Upper or follow the Gaines on social media, it is no secret they are doing pretty well for themselves.  The journey was surprisingly wonderful.

This book was full of stories of how they have got where they are and it has not all been roses.  They have gone through good and bad times.  I really enjoyed learning about their business practices and have encouraged my locally owned businessman husband to read this book to learn from their successes and failures.

Joanna tells about some epiphanies she has had as a mother and a wife that really hit me right in the heart.  Their story makes me want to go for my dreams and figure out how to listen to the voice in my head that tells me what I should do next.  Learning to enjoy the journey is a good lesson for us all.

After reading this book, I feel like I have sat down with the Gaines family and listened to them tell me their story.  It was an intimate lovely encounter of all they have been through to get where they are.  They deserve all the success that God has blessed them with.

Leave a Reply

