A Man Called Ove

man-called-oveA Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

Ove is a grouchy old man who has his routine down to a science.  Every morning he gets up and checks the neighborhood for vandalism, makes sure his neighbors are recycling correctly and keeps to himself.

As we get to know Ove, we learn about his past including his childhood, how he met his wife and the overall story of how his life has gone.

Ove’s wife has passed away recently and he was asked to retire so he has decided he is finished with this life.  As he makes plans to end his life, he is interrupted by the new neighbors moving in next door.  They create quite a bit of chaos in Ove’s perfect little plan and life causing him to postpone his plans to end his own life.

I fond myself growing fond of Ove.  I’m sure we all know people who have a tough exterior but really have a soft heart inside.  Although Ove’s softness was hidden beneath years of trouble, I had hope that it was there.

This wasn’t a book that I couldn’t wait to pick up and read which explains why it has been so long since I blogged.  When I was finished, I had to think back and decide if it was a book I liked or not.  After some consideration, I decided that I did like the book.  It was a relaxing read and even though it wasn’t full of drama or action, I’m glad to have read it.  I can’t wait to discuss it at our next book club meeting.

Leave a Reply

