Never Never

never neverNever Never by Colleen Hoover & Tarryn Fisher

In alternating chapters, Silas and Charlie tell us about how they both instantly have lost their memory in the middle of a normal school day.  I mean I guess it was a normal day, they don’t really remember.

This is a quick read where Silas and Charlie try to figure out who they are and what their relationship is all about without letting the people around them know there is anything wrong.

I’ve read several of Colleen Hoover’s other books and so I decided to give this one a try.  Here’s one of my book pet peeves…it drives me crazy when young characters get themselves in sticky situations and they go out of their way to not tell the authority figures in their life.  Are there really kids walking around every day with huge secrets that they just aren’t telling the grown ups?  I’m sure some but I’ve read several stories that seem to take this to the extreme.  If you don’t know who you are, why would you know not to tell someone and wouldn’t the people closest to you notice something was extremely wrong?

This was a quick read that I had to get to the end of.  Unfortunately, the ending leaves you hanging for the next book.  I was very relieved to see that it was available in Overdrive so I could pick up right where I left off.  If I had read this books as a new release and had to wait several months for a sequel, I probably would have lost interest.

There are some language issues and one scene where they listen to a video on their phone of Silas sneaking into Charlie’s bedroom to wish her a happy birthday.  There is nothing graphic but you definitely get the idea of what is going on.  I have a hard time just putting this in the adult category or the young adult category.  I think it could go in both.

 

Leave a Reply

